The 31st Annual PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles Literary Awards

Image advertising The PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles Literary Awards


Join us for the 31th Annual PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles Literary Awards. The PEN Oakland Josephine Miles Awards, named for the late poet and professor at The University of California at Berkeley, were created to provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the entire spectrum of America’s diverse literary community. In addition, there is an Adelle Foley Award, a Reginald Lockett Lifetime Achievement Award and a Gary Webb Anti-Censorship award.

The 2020 PEN Oakland Award winners will be formally recognized on Saturday, December 5, from 2:00-5:00 P.M. PST. This will be a free virtual event, which will be broadcast live on Facebook on the Oakland Public Library Facebook page.

For questions about the broadcast, please contact or call 510-238-3134.


The 2020 PEN Oakland Award Recipients Are:


Josephine Miles Award

Nick Estes, Our History Is the Future: Standing Rock Versus the Dakota Access Pipeline, and the Long Tradition of Indigenous Resistance (Verso; Illustrated Edition)

Sigrun Susan Lane Salt: Poems based in a dream that mollusks and bi-valves can suddenly sing (Goldfish Press)

Jericho Brown, The Tradition (Copper Canyon Press)

Maya Khosla, All the Fires of Wind and Light (Sixteen Rivers Press)

Jillian Weise, Cyborg Detective (BOA Editions, Ltd.)

Jia Tolentino, Trick Mirror (Random House)

Stephanie McCurry, Women’s War (Harvard University Press)


Adelle Foley Award

Henry Dumas


Gary Webb Anti-Censorship Award

Omarosa Manigault Newman


Reginald Lockett Lifetime Achievement Award

Thomas Sanchez

Robert Sward





This event has already occurred. Visit our events calendar for future events.


Online Program