Keep Warm With A Good YA Book

Our List of Feel-Good Realistic Fiction and Fantasy For Teens!

Is the cold weather and pandemic restrictions dampening your mood? Keep warm with a good book by checking out some of our YA picks of the year. Indulge in some light-hearted comedy and drama or escape to fantastical worlds. Wishing you and yours’ health and safety this holiday season.

Happy winter reading from your library staff members in Teen Services!

 

FUN REALISTIC READS

                   

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager by Ben Philippe

Teen humor and social awkwardness at its finest in this story of a Black Canadian boy moving to Austin, Texas. For fans of John Green and Sherman Alexie’s Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian.

More Than Just a Pretty Face by Syed M. Masood

A boy sets out to defy others’ expectations of him and discovers something much more surprising instead. A fun, contemporary romance about finding love where you least expect it and in spite of familial, cultural obligations. For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han as well as those who enjoyed Mindy Kaling’s "Never Have I Ever".

The Voting Booth by Brandy Colbert

Humor, romance and voting advocacy take center stage in this book centered on voting rights and the power youth have to enact change.

I’ll Be the One by Lyla Lee

Skye wants to be the next k-pop sensation and now she has a chance. She snagged and aced her addition and she has a real shot at being a star. But will she survive the cutthroat industry and its scrutiny? A light rom-com that seeks to tackle societal beauty standards and project body positivity, self-pride, and encourage embracing all facets of yourself.

Mad, Bad, Dangerous to Know by Samira Ahmed

Two women living their lives two hundred years apart from one another become involved in an art mystery involving Alexandre Dumas. Romanticism and intrigue in Paris combined with strong, fierce heroines—this book is sure to charm and enchant you.

A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow by Laura Taylor Namey

Lila has had a horrible year. Her abuela died unexpectedly, her boyfriend of three years broke up with her and her best friend has moved away. Fearing for her emotional and mental health, Lila's family sends her to England to stay with family so she can take some time for herself. Off to a dreary start things change when Laura meets Orion who is determined to help Lila re-discover her passion for cooking and life. The food descriptions in this book are divine. Major "Great British Bake-Off" feels so do not read on a empty stomach. A wonderful story of love, loss and the things we do in life to fill ourselves up again.

 

FUN FANTASY READS

 

             

Legendborn by Tracy Deon 

A girl discovers the truth of her family’s lineage and the unique powers she possesses. Demons, mysticism and secret societies combined with black girl magic in this reimagining of Arthurian legends. For fans of Jose Older’s Shadow Hunter’s series and Lovecraft Country.

Faith: Taking Flight by Julie Murphy

Faith is just your normal average teenage girl trying to enjoy her senior year. But being a superhero complicates things especially when people start disappearing from Fath’s small town. Fans of Murphy’s other work, Dumplin will enjoy this body positive LGBTQI superhero origin story.

A Phoenix Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell 

Sixteen fantasy/sci-fi short stories explore the Black experience in this anthology of renown Black YA authors such as Elizabeth Acevedo, Dhonielle Clayton, Justina Ireland and more. For fans of Octavia Butler.

The Extraordinaries by TJ Klune

Nick Bell would love nothing more than to be a superhero and a member of the  “Extraordinaires”. But for a teenage boy with ADHD inflicted with anxiety, he’s going to need some help. Humor and action come together in this feel-good queer superhero story about love, family, friendship and the power of boosting up others. For fans of Rainbow Rowell and Marissa Meyer

Diamond City by Francesca Flores

Aina is skilled assassin who is determined to rise above her humble station. But, when an assassination attempt goes awry, Aina has to uncover the truth behind the organization she belongs to in order to survive. Fans of Assassins Creed and the Hunger Games will enjoy this action-packed, violent thriller. Readers who enjoy Harry Potter and steampunk might also enjoy  Flores’ world-building.

Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

Yadriel summons a ghost to prove his true gender and magical capabilities to his family. But when he summons the wrong ghost, what starts as a quest to prove himself becomes a journey of self-exploration and acceptance. Witchcraft, ghosts, romance and adventure come together in this queer coming-of-age story rooted in latinx folklore.