PEN Oakland Awards Announced; Ceremony at Rockridge Branch Library

Release Date: 
Thu, 12/02/2010

(Oakland) – The 20th Annual PEN Oakland– Josephine Miles National Literary Awards have been announced for books released in 2009. The awards ceremony at Rockridge Branch Library, followed by a reception and book signings, is free and open to the public. Former state Senate President Pro Tem Don Perata will be the keynote speaker.

PEN Oakland, dubbed "the blue collar PEN" by the New York Times, is a chapter of PEN International. PEN Oakland annually sponsors the PEN Oakland– Josephine Miles Book Awards, named for the late poet and faculty member of U.C. Berkeley's English Department.

The 2010 PEN Oakland- Josephine Miles Literary Award winners are (for books published in 2009):

Clifton Ross . Translations from Silence: New and Selected Poems. Freedom Voices. (poetry)

Elizabeth Nunez . Anna In-Between. Akashic Press. (fiction)

Etel Adnan . Master of the Eclipse. Interlink Publishing Group. (fiction)

Manuel Ruben Delgado . The Last Chicano. Authorhouse Publications. (memoir)

Andrena Zawinski . Something About. Blue Light Press/First World Publishing. (poetry)

Maria Espinosa . Dying Unfinished. Wings Press. (fiction/memoir)

Mitch Horowitz . Occult America: The Secret History of How Mysticism Shaped Our Nation. Bantam. (non-fiction)

Ivan J. Houston . Black Warriors: The Buffalo Soldiers of World War II: Memories of the Only Negro Infantry Division to Fight in Europe. iUniverse. (non-fiction)

Journalist Richard Prince is the winner of the 2010 Censorship Award.

Satirist Paul Krassner and the late author and publisher Vance Bourjaily will each receive Lifetime Achievement Award.

For more information about PEN Oakland, please call Kim McMillon (510) 681-5652 or visit For information about Oakland Public Library, please visit The Oakland Public Library is a department of the City of Oakland.