OPL Helps You Work for 2020 Census

Census 2020 means jobs! Get one-on-one application help at a library workshop.

It's chilly and the leaves are changing colors, but at OPL, we're already thinking ahead to spring -- and the 2020 census.

Beginning in March 2020, the US Census Bureau will begin its decennial (that's every ten years) count of people living in the US. Getting an accurate count for the census is critical to government funding, and the Oakland Public Library will be helping to make sure everyone gets counted, especially vulnerable populations such as immigrants and refugees, families with children, and people experiencing homelessness.

Want to be part of that effort while earning some money? The Census Bureau will hire thousands of workers to help count people next year, and they will give one-on-one help to anyone who wants to apply for those jobs in these upcoming workshops. Bring your resume!

81st Avenue - Saturday, November 23, 2-3:30 PM

Brookfield - Wednesday, November 20, 1-3 PM

Ch├ívez - Wednesday, November 20, 10 AM - 1:30 PM
Thursday, November 21, 1-3:30 PM
Tuesday, November 26, 10 AM - 1:30 PM

Eastmont - dates TBD

Elmhurst - Monday, November 25, 10-12 PM
Monday, December 2, 10 AM-3:30 PM

Golden Gate - Tuesday, December 3, 5-7 PM

Main Library - Friday, December 6, 10 AM-12 PM
Friday, December 13, 10 AM-12 PM
Friday, December 20, 10 AM-12 PM 

Martin Luther King - Saturday, November 23, 12-1:30 PM

Rockridge - Wednesday, December 4, 10 AM-12 PM
Wednesday, December 11, 10 AM-12 PM

Temescal - Tuesday, November 26, 3-5 PM

Elmhurst Branch hosted workshops on November 12 and 18; Martin Luther King held one on November 18.

Comments

What do you think?

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.