Library Advisory Commission

The Library Advisory Commission reports and makes recommendations to the Oakland City Council on Oakland Public Library policies; provides citizen oversight of Measure Q tax funds; and advocates on behalf of OPL programs and services.  

The Commission consists of 15 seats, appointed by the Mayor and Council.  

The public is welcome to attend the Commission’s meeting which are held on the last Monday of the month at 5:15 p.m. in the Brad Walters Community Room at the Main Library, 125 14th St.  

Call the Director's office, 238-3281, to confirm meetings in case of cancellation or change-of-venue.  Please note that meetings are rescheduled when observing a holiday.

Library Advisory Commission Members:

  • Kathryn Sterbenc, Chairperson
  • Rebekah Randle, Vice-Chairperson
  • Ain Bailey
  • Victoria A. Barbero
  • Traci M.S. Griffin
  • April Harper
  • Dr. A. Aurea Lewis
  • Ken Lupoff
  • Lesley Mandros Bell
  • Rosa Montgomery
  • Susanne M. Perkins
  • Andrew Racle 
  • Sophia Rodriguez 
  • Charles Sanchez
  • Noelle Tu Duong

Library Advisory Commission meetings

Library Advisory Commission 3/31/14

Monday, March 31, 2014 - 5:15pm
Agenda       Minutes

Networking Committee 3/10/14

Monday, March 10, 2014 - 6:15pm
Agenda      

Advocacy Committee 3/3/14

Monday, March 3, 2014 - 6:15pm
Agenda      

Library Advisory Commission 2/24/14

Monday, February 24, 2014 - 5:15pm
Agenda       Minutes

Networking Committee 2/10/14

Monday, February 10, 2014 - 6:15pm
Agenda      

Library Advisory Commission 1/27/14

Monday, January 27, 2014 - 5:15pm
Agenda       Minutes

Advocacy Committee 1/15/14

Wednesday, January 15, 2014 - 2:00pm
Agenda      

Advocacy Committee 12/12/13

Thursday, December 12, 2013 - 6:15pm
Agenda      

Library Advisory Commission 11/25/13

Monday, November 25, 2013 - 5:15pm
Agenda       Minutes

Library Advisory Commission 10/28/13

Monday, October 28, 2013 - 2:45pm
Agenda       Minutes