Library Advisory Commission

The Library Advisory Commission reports and makes recommendations to the Oakland City Council on Oakland Public Library policies; provides citizen oversight of Measure Q tax funds; and advocates on behalf of OPL programs and services.  The Commission consists of 15 seats, appointed by the Mayor and Council.  The public is welcome to attend the Commission’s meeting which are held on the last Monday of the month at 5:15 p.m. in the Brad Walters Community Room at the Main Library, 125 14th St.  Call the Director's office, 238-3281, to confirm meetings in case of cancellation or change-of-venue.  Please note that meetings are rescheduled when observing a holiday.

Library Advisory Commission Members:

  • Kathryn Sterbenc, Chairperson
  • Andrew Racle, Vice-Chairperson
  • Ain Bailey
  • Victoria A. Barbero
  • Ruby Bernstein
  • Roy Chan
  • Shanthi Gonzales
  • April Harper
  • Lesley Mandros Bell
  • Rosa Montgomery
  • Susanne M. Perkins
  • Jeanine Shimatsu 
  • Noelle Tu Duong

Library Advisory Commission meetings

Library Advisory Commission Meeting
Monday, July 28, 2014 - 5:15pm
Agenda      
Library Advisory Commission Networking Committee Meeting
Monday, July 14, 2014 - 6:15pm
Agenda      
Library Advisory Commission Meeting
Monday, July 7, 2014 - 6:15pm
Agenda       Minutes
Library Advisory Commission Meeting
Monday, June 30, 2014 - 5:15pm
Agenda       Minutes
Library Advisory Commission - Networking Committee Meeting
Monday, June 9, 2014 - 6:15pm
Agenda       Minutes
Library Advisory Commission - Advocacy Committee Meeting
Monday, June 2, 2014 - 6:15pm
Agenda      
Library Advisory Commission Meeting
Monday, May 19, 2014 - 5:15pm
Agenda      
Library Advisory Commission - Networking Committee Meeting
Monday, May 12, 2014 - 6:15pm
Agenda      
Library Advisory Commission - Advocacy Committee Meeting
Monday, May 5, 2014 - 6:15pm
Agenda      
Library Advisory Commission Meeting
Monday, April 28, 2014 - 5:15pm
Agenda       Minutes